Make your own free website on
Indu Sharma Memorial Trust
In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims


Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2002
In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims
The Play - VAPASI
Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2000
Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2001
PADMANAND Sahitya Sammaan
Mumbai - 1
Contact Us

"Hasya Kavi Sammelan" in aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims

KATHA (UK) and Hindi Samiti (UK) organised a Hasya Kavi Sammelan at the Nehru Centre in central London to raise funds for the Gujarat earthquake victims.
Mr. Hardeep Singh Puri, the Deputy High Commissioner of India in the U.K. was the chief guest while Mr. Prabhu Chawla, editor India Today presided over the Kavi Sammelan.

Mr. Padmesh Gupta, chairman of Hindi Samiti (UK) and Mr. Tejendra Sharma, Secretary KATHA (UK) made impassioned pleas to those present to make contributions, big or small, for the noble cause. Mr. Padmesh Gupta welcomed the guests and poets and set the tone of the programme in a sombre tone. Divya Mathur, the chairperson of KATHA, invited the poets and Mr. Prabhu Chawla to the stage with witty remarks. Tejendra Sharma, while passing vote of thanks, recited a short poem which revealed the core theme of the Kavi Sammelan, "Mehangaee ke daur mein, khushi kahan se layen / Dukhon ke ambaar mein, hansi kahan say payen / Holi kay tyohaar mein hasya kavi ban jayen / Khushian yahan batorein, Gujarat unhein pahunchayen"

Mr. Hardeep Singh Puri in his poetic address appreciated the office bearers of Hindi Samiti (UK) and KATHA (UK) for organizing such event and raise money for the Prime Minister's National Relief Fund.

Among the poets who entertained the audience with ther wit, humour and satire were Seema Chatterjee from Mumbai, Dr. K.K. Srivastava from Birmingham, Krishan Kant Tandon, Bhartendu Vimal, Anil Sharma, Divya Mathur, Rajshree Gupta, Kailash Budhwar, Padmesh Gupta and Tejendra Sharma.

The audience were in splits by the witty anecdotes of Ravi Sharma of Sunrise Radio who was moderating the programme.

Among the audience, besides others, Naresh Kaushik of BBC, Chaman Lal Chaman, Sohan Rahi, Toshi Amrita, Dharmesh of BBC Birmingham, Titiksha Shah, Piyali Ray, Manji Patel of MP Media, Meera Kaushik and Ved Mohla were present.