Make your own free website on

Katha U.K.

Press Release for Katha U.K. Awards 2005

Home | 16th Annual Katha UK Awards (2010) to be held at the House of Commons | 17th Annual International Katha Awards Announced | 15th Katha (U.K.) awards 2009 at the House of Commons, London | Announcement of Katha U.K. Awards 2008 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2007 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2006 | Katha U.K. Awards 2005 | 2004 Katha Award Ceremony | The 2004 Award Winners | Announcement of Katha UK Awards 2007 | International Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2003 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2002 | In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims | The Play - VAPASI | Karyashala | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2000 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2001 | PADMANAND Sahitya Sammaan | Katha | Mumbai - 1 | Karmakshetra | Contact Us

The General Secretary of Katha (U.K.) and noted writer Tejendra Sharma has commented that the year 2005 has been the year of David and not Goliath. This year's coveted International Indu Sharma Katha Samman goes to Mr. Pramod Kumar Tiwari for his novel Darr Hamari Jebon Mein.  The award consists of an air passage Delhi-London-Delhi (sponsored by Air India), Airport Tax, Visa fee for UK, a shield, a shawl and one week's stay in London where the award winner would be taken to important historical sites. The award will be handed over to Mr. Tiwari in a glittering function to be held on 23rd July 2005 at the Nehru Centre, London.

International Indu Sharma Katha Samman was instituted in the memory of promising poetess and short story writer Indu Sharma who lost her battle of life to cancer in 1995. The past recipients of this coveted award have been Chitra Mudgal, Sanjiv, Dr. Gyan Chaturvedi, S.R. Harnot, and Vibhuti Narain Rai.

Mr. Promod Kumar Tiwari was born on 30th October 1965 in village Hathidihan, Distt. Rohtas, Bihar. He completed his graduation from Purnea College, Purnea. He is an IAS of 1991 batch in Assam-Meghalya Cadre. Darr Hamari Jebon Mein is his first novel. It took him around five years to give it the final shape and was published in the year 2003. This novel has received rave reviews at the hands of literary giants of Hindi literature. His second novel - Arey Chandal, is ready for publication. At present, he is working on his third novel. He also indulges in writing poetry.



Padmanand Sahitya Samman for the year 2005 goes to Mrs. Usha Raje Saxena for her collection of short stories Walking Partner. Mrs. Saxena was born at Gorakhpur in UP and holds an MA degree in English literature. Her published work includes Indradhanush kee Talaash mein (collection of poetry), Pravaas mein (Short stories), Mitti Ki Sugandh (collection of short stories – edited). Her writings reveal a unique blend of Indian culture, civilization and the language on one hand and total commitment to the experiences and thought process of non-resident Indians on the other. Usha Raje Saxena is the co-editor of the literary magazine PURVAAI published from London. In the past years this award has been bestowed upon Dr. Satyendra Srivastava, Divya Mathur, Naresh Bharatiya, Bhartendu Vimal, and Dr. Achala Sharma.


The Trust thanks all those writers, editors and journalists friends and well-wishers who helped us in selection of the award winners. 


Suraj Prakash, Resident Representative Katha (UK), Mumbai. Edit Text