Make your own free website on

Katha U.K.

15th Katha (U.K.) awards 2009 at the House of Commons, London

Home | 16th Annual Katha UK Awards (2010) to be held at the House of Commons | 17th Annual International Katha Awards Announced | 15th Katha (U.K.) awards 2009 at the House of Commons, London | Announcement of Katha U.K. Awards 2008 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2007 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2006 | Katha U.K. Awards 2005 | 2004 Katha Award Ceremony | The 2004 Award Winners | Announcement of Katha UK Awards 2007 | International Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2003 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2002 | In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims | The Play - VAPASI | Karyashala | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2000 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2001 | PADMANAND Sahitya Sammaan | Katha | Mumbai - 1 | Karmakshetra | Contact Us

The General Secretary of Katha (U.K.) and noted writer Tejendra Sharma has informed that for the year 2009 International Indu Sharma Katha Samman would be conferred upon Mr. Bhagwan Dass Morwal for his novel Ret (published by Rajkamal Prakashan, New Delhi).  The award consists of an air passage Delhi-London-Delhi (sponsored by Air India), Airport Tax, Visa fee for UK, a shield, a shawl and one week's stay in London where the award winner would be taken to important historical sites. The award will be handed over to Mr. Morwal in a glittering function to be held on 09 July 2009 at the House of Commons in London.

International Indu Sharma Katha Samman was instituted in the memory of promising poetess and short story writer Indu Sharma who lost her battle of life to cancer in 1995. The past recipients of this coveted award have been Chitra Mudgal, Sanjiv, Dr. Gyan Chaturvedi, S.R. Harnot, and Vibhuti Narain Rai, Pramod Kumar Tiwari, Dr. Asghar Wajahat, Mahua Maji and Nasera Sharma.

Bhagwandass Morwal was born on January 23, 1960 to a family of landless labourers in Nagina, distt.Mewat, Haryana.  He completed his MA degree from Rajasthan University. He holds a diploma in journalism as well. Besides Kaala Pahad (novel-1999) and Baabal terey Des Mein (novel-2004) Mr. Morwal has to his credit four collections of short-stories, one collection of poems and he has edited many books. Among many awards conferred on Mr. Morwal is the Delhi Hindi Academy Award.  His writings reflect a deep insight, an inherent vision of rural problems in Mewat. His characters represent the Ganga-Jamuni culture of Hindus and Muslims. He had to face threats to his life for depicting the life of Kanjars in his novel Ret.



Padmanand Sahitya Samman for the year 2009 goes to Mr. Mohan Rana for his collection of poems Dhoop ke Andherey MeiN (2008 – Suryastra Prakashan, New Delhi). He was born in Delhi in 1964. He is a graduate of Delhi University and is settled in the Roman City Bath in the United Kingdom. He has to his credit six collections of poems. The main-stream writers and critics consider Mohan Rana an important poet. According to Nandkishore Acharya, “The poetry of Mohan Rana stands apart because of its special flavour. It is difficult to club it with anybody else.”


So far this award has been presented to the well-known writers of UK viz. Dr. Satyendra Srivastava, Divya Mathur, Naresh Bharatiya, Bhartendu Vimal, Dr. Achala Sharma, Usha Raje Saxena, Govind Sharma, Dr. Gautam Sachdev and Usha Verma.


The Trust thanks all those writers, editors and journalists friends and well-wishers who helped us in selection of the award winners.