Make your own free website on

Katha U.K.

Katha (U.K.) awards 2008 at the House of Lords, London

Announcement of winners - Nasira Sharma and Usha Verma

Home | 16th Annual Katha UK Awards (2010) to be held at the House of Commons | 17th Annual International Katha Awards Announced | 15th Katha (U.K.) awards 2009 at the House of Commons, London | Announcement of Katha U.K. Awards 2008 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2007 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2006 | Katha U.K. Awards 2005 | 2004 Katha Award Ceremony | The 2004 Award Winners | Announcement of Katha UK Awards 2007 | International Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2003 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2002 | In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims | The Play - VAPASI | Karyashala | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2000 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2001 | PADMANAND Sahitya Sammaan | Katha | Mumbai - 1 | Karmakshetra | Contact Us


The General Secretary of Katha (U.K.) and noted writer Tejendra Sharma has informed that the year 2008 International Indu Sharma Katha Samman goes to Mrs. Nasira Sharma for her novel KuiyaaNJaan (published by Samyik Prakashan, New Delhi).  The award consists of an air passage Delhi-London-Delhi (sponsored by Air India), Airport Tax, Visa fee for UK, a shield, a shawl and one week's stay in London where the award winner would be taken to important historical sites. The award will be handed over to Mrs. Sharma in a glittering function to be held on 27th June 2008 at the House of Lords in London.

International Indu Sharma Katha Samman was instituted in the memory of promising poetess and short story writer Indu Sharma who lost her battle of life to cancer in 1995. The past recipients of this coveted award have been Chitra Mudgal, Sanjiv, Dr. Gyan Chaturvedi, S.R. Harnot, and Vibhuti Narain Rai, Pramod Kumar Tiwari, Dr. Asghar Wajahat, and Mahua Maji.

Nasira Sharma was born in Allahabad in 1948. She celebrates her 60th birthday this year.  She holds Masters Degree in Persian.  Her published work includes Saat NadiaN Ek Samandar, Shaalmali, Theekrey kee Mangni, Zinda Muhavarey (Novels); Shaami Kagaz, Pathar Gali, Sangsaar, Ibney Mariam, Sabina ke Chalis Chor, Khuda ki Wapasi (Short Stores). Besides she has to her credit a number of translated books and television serials.


Padmanand Sahitya Samman for the year 2008 goes to Mrs. Usha Verma for her collection of short stories - Kaaravaas. Mrs. Verma was born in Barabanki, U.P. and completed her M.A. degree in Philosophy from Lucknow University. She has been an academician of very high calibre in Leeds University. Her published work includes Kshitish Adhoorey, Koyee to Sunega (Collection of poems) and Saanjhi Katha Yatra (Edited collection of short stories.). So far this award has been presented to the well-known writers of UK viz. Dr. Satyendra Srivastava, Divya Mathur, Naresh Bharatiya, Bhartendu Vimal, Dr. Achala Sharma, Usha Raje Saxena, Govind Sharma and Dr. Gautam Sachdev.


The Trust thanks all those writers, editors and journalists friends and well-wishers who helped us in selection of the award winners.