Make your own free website on

Katha U.K.

Announcement of Katha UK Awards 2007

Home | 16th Annual Katha UK Awards (2010) to be held at the House of Commons | 17th Annual International Katha Awards Announced | 15th Katha (U.K.) awards 2009 at the House of Commons, London | Announcement of Katha U.K. Awards 2008 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2007 | Katha (U.K.) Awards 2006 | Katha U.K. Awards 2005 | 2004 Katha Award Ceremony | The 2004 Award Winners | Announcement of Katha UK Awards 2007 | International Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2003 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2002 | In Aid of Gujarat Earthquake Victims | The Play - VAPASI | Karyashala | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2000 | Indu Sharma Katha Sammaan 2001 | PADMANAND Sahitya Sammaan | Katha | Mumbai - 1 | Karmakshetra | Contact Us


The General Secretary of Katha (U.K.) and noted writer Tejendra Sharma has informed that the year 2007 International Indu Sharma Katha Samman goes to Dr. Mahua Maji for her novel Main Borishailla  (published by Rajkamal, New Delhi).  The award consists of an air passage Delhi-London-Delhi (sponsored by Air India), Airport Tax, Visa fee for UK, a shield, a shawl and one week's stay in London where the award winner would be taken to important historical sites. The award will be handed over to Dr. Mahua Maji in a glittering function to be held on 20th July 2007 at the House of Lords in London. Dr. Asghar Wajahat was the first ever Hindi writer to have been honoured at the House of Lords.

International Indu Sharma Katha Samman was instituted in the memory of promising poetess and short story writer Indu Sharma who lost her battle of life to cancer in 1995. The past recipients of this coveted award have been Chitra Mudgal, Sanjiv, Dr. Gyan Chaturvedi, S.R. Harnot, and Vibhuti Narain Rai and Pramod Kumar Tiwari and Dr. Asghar Wajahat.

Mahua Maji has registered her presence on the Hindi literary scene with her very first novel Main Borishailla - a research based novel written on the background of the birth of Bangladesh. She is a serious student of Social Sciences and has attained her Ph.D. degree in this subject. She has also attained the degree of Ankan Vibhakar in Fine Arts from Ravindra University. Her short stories have been published in all the major Hindi magazines and newspapers of India. Main Borishailla is being translated into English as well as Bangla. This novel has received rave reviews from critics and readers.


Padmanand Sahitya Samman for the year 2007 goes to Dr. Gautam Sachdev for his collection of short stories Saadhey Saat Darjan Pinjrey. Dr. Sachdev was born in Mandi Warburton, Sheikhupura (now in Pakistan). His education was attained from Delhi University where he completed his M.A. and Ph.D. Besides the award-winning book Dr. Sachdev has to his credit Adhar Ka Pul and Ek Aur Atmasamarpan (Collection of poetry), Sacha Jhootha (satires), Boond Boond Akash (Ghazals), Prem Chand – The craft of story writing. So far this award has been conferred upon the well-known writers of UK viz. Dr. Satyendra Srivastava, Divya Mathur, Naresh Bharatiya, Bhartendu Vimal, Dr. Achala Sharma, Usha Raje Saxena and Govind Sharma.  


The Trust thanks all those writers, editors and journalists friends and well-wishers who helped us in selection of the award winners. 


Suraj Prakash, Resident Representative Katha (UK), Mumbai.